Dr. I. Valantinė (LSU) elected European Association for Sport Management (EASM) Board member

  On September 7, the 25th Annual Conference of the European Association for Sport Management was held in Bern (Switzerland). During the General Assembly, Acting Professor Dr. Irena Valantinė (Department of Sport Management, Economics and Sociology, LSU) was elected EASM Board member.

  New composition of EASM Board was approved during the General Assembly.

  President – Dr. Vassil Girginov (Brunel University, London, United Kingdom);

  Vice President – Ruth Crabtree (Northumbria University, United Kingdom);

  Treasurer – Prof. Dr. Christian Germelmann (University of Bayreuth, Germany);

  Secretary-general – Assoc. Prof. Dr. Stefan Walzel (German Sport University Cologne);

  Board members: Aila Ahonen (JAMK University of Applied Sciences, Finland), Assoc. Prof. Dr. Christos Anagnostopolous (Molde University College (Norway), Prof. Dr. Guillaume Bodet (Claude Bernard University Lyon, France), Dr. Tim Breitbarth (Bournemouth University, United Kingdom), Gaby Dijkstra (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands), Prof. Dr. Irena Valantinė (Lithuanian Sports University) and a student Jakob Wikenstal (Malmo University, Sweden).

  “I am glad to join the family of the European sport management with deep traditions and history. I am grateful to all EASM members who voted. There are a lot of challenges, but I am ready to work for the good of the members of the Association and represent the Baltic region in the field of sport management”, said Acting Professor Dr. Irena Valantinė.

  EASM was established in 1993 in the Netherlands as an independent association. Its membership is composed of as many as 650 academics and professionals from the public, voluntary and commercial sectors in 42 countries of the world.  For more information, see http://www.easm.net/